Why I Am Thankful For 2014

Pere Marquette Park.

Pere Marquette Park.

I have a lot to say. I always do. I could talk the ears off a statue. I spend a lot of time enjoying life. And a lot of time developing questions inside my head. I write books based on those questions, based off other people who have other people thoughts, and the development of empathy. I’m a firm believer of the Real. A firm believer that there is nothing more important in this world than that simple statement: we are here. We must be. Must.

I also know there’s more to me than my body, my forward thoughts, my incensed words. I am more than my body.

So I’m pulling a list out of my head of things I’m grateful for, to anyone who will read.

For this year, I am thankful for:

  1. New music and a new sound system
  2. Orchid. Orchid. Orchid
  3. Parks near where I live, and people to walk them with me
  4. Having the ability to pay for, and enjoy, my world, despite the frustrations (or possibly because of them)
  5. A family to fall back on
  6. Self-reliance and support
  7. The ability to write well
  8. New opportunities in the next year
  9. Forgiveness/Acceptance
  10. God, Me, You

It is short. It is direct. But it isn’t exactly what I mean. So here is the list I actually wrote first, but found it to possibly be too abstract:

  1. I’m thankful for music, art, writing, and all forms of expansive thought; for those of us who know we are real, but also know we are more than that.
  2. I am thankful for short words and long breaths, for the moments between words, and comfortable voices in darkness.
  3. I am thankful for friendship, for twilights and dawns and long parks filled with marble stone.
  4. I am thankful for this moment. And this one. And this. I am thankful for memories that come back broken, and surprises that come back memories.
  5. I am thankful for intent and indentations, soft hearts beneath hard armament, where the spears have buckled and bucklers have broken.
  6. I am thankful for the powers of selflessness, selfishness, and the self.
  7. I am thankful for being a flower of insurmountable color, an animal of powerful character, and a pact worth reading.
  8. I am thankful for stars, kind faces, wild places, and hope. Mostly for hope.
  9. I am thankful for the power of generosity and great forgiveness in the face of threat and danger.
  10. I thank God for God, me for me, and you for you.

We are Groot.

4 thoughts on “Why I Am Thankful For 2014

  1. I think you should have just written your original list as a poem. It’s got that quality. It’s feeling put into words.

Leave a Reply

