Studying the Greats

I always wonder what most people see a “great writer” to be. I’m always walking around, thinking about it, whether anyone else would find my authorly loves paralleled. I know authorly isn’t a word. I like to create them, from time to time, because sometimes the language doesn’t include my thought. Insert Inuit names for snow here.

I’d divide my favorite authors into two categories: modern and classic. By “classic,” of course, I mean they stand the test of time, and the author is not currently alive. Since I’ve seen so many readers posting their fav 15 on Facebook, with the blithe expectation that a “good” friend will pass it on, I’ve decided to do something similar here, although nobody’s expected to extend the “chain” past me.

If, by some chance, you do, link it to me so I can go check your preferences out. I’d love to see an overall consensus.

Classic:
1 Edgar Allan Poe (The Telltale Heart, The Raven, etc)
2 H. P. Lovecraft (The Color out of Time, At the Mountains of Madness, Thanatopsis)
3 Miguel de Cervantes (Don Quixote)
4 Dante (Inferno)
5 Milton (Paradise Lost)
6 Andre Dumas (3 Musketeers, Count of Monte Cristo)
7 Charles Dickens (A Tale of Two Cities)
8 T.S. Eliot (Four Quartets)
9 Walt Whitman (Leaves of Grass)
10 Washington Irving (Legend of Sleepy Hollow, Rip van Winkle)
11 Frances Hodgson Burnett (The Secret Garden)
12 Ovid (Metamorphoses)
13 Jung (Archetypes, Liber Novus)
14 Mark Twain (Letters from Earth, Autobiography)
15 J. R. R. Tolkien (Penthouse Letters. Just kidding)

Modern:
1 Dan Simmons (Drood, Carrion Comfort, Hyperion)
2 Stephen King (The Shining, Dark Tower series)
3 Mark Z. Danielewski (House of Leaves)
4 Orson Scott Card (Ender’s Game series)
5 Greg Bear (Legacy)
6 Peter Watts (Starfish series)
7 Toni Morrison (Sula, Jazz, Beloved)
8 Patrick Rothfuss (Name of the Wind)
9 Susan Mitchell (Erotikon)
10 Yann Martel (Life of Pi)
11 Stephen Baxter (Evolution)
12 Guy Gavriel Kay (The Last Light of the Sun)
13 Thomas Moore (Dark Nights of the Soul)
14 Charles de Lint (Moonheart)
15 Dean Koontz (Frankenstein series, Phantoms)

 

What are YOUR favorites?

(I recommend reading any single author I have listed, although please recognize my penchant for horror, fantasy, supernatural.)

Leave a Reply

