Title Woes

I apologize for not updating as often as I should. Real Life has turned up the NOS and I’ve been struggling to keep abreast (job shifting, moving, marriage, Diablo 3. The last one I’m not proud of).

Part two of my Buffalo trip is also incoming. My computer decided to update/restart and I lost it. So I must rewrite it.

So what I’ve been doing for the past two weeks is rack my brain as to what I can change the title of my novel to (from It Gave Me a Name to something else). I’m following some incredible people on Twitter (mostly agents/writers) that repost/blog about their own writing issues/complications/help, and I came across an incredibly helpful site on what a novel’s title should do.

In a nutshell, it should be simple–as simple as possible, I guess–while explaining what the story is about: thematic, possibly, or a major part of the plot, or explaining a dynamic character. At the same time, it should portray what kind of book it is: fantasy has something to do with magic; romance is generally soft and romance-like; thriller is generally psychological or action-oriented.

I have convinced myself, after reading all the info about naming conventions, that It Gave Me a Name is too vague. It explains a major theme, but doesn’t properly convey anything of specific interest. It discusses a sub-plot while establishing a first-person narrative, but it doesn’t do what it’s supposed to.

So I’ve been running titles through my head. It’s an urban fantasy book dealing with Christianity and demonology, so the main contender is currently A Priest and His Demons. Other contenders are Demidemonology, A Dance of Demons, and A Shepherd for Raptors. Given my indecisive nature, I’ll probably go with the first, simply because it explains what’s going on most decisively.

Eh. Titles are usually so easy for me to create. Writing a book is generally not difficult to write. Yet this novel, and this novel alone (second in the series is done, cut and dried, without need for a 3rd, 4th, 5th rewrite), is a thorn in my finger.

I’ve rewritten this thing so many times I wonder if it’s worth it. It is. But I still wonder.

~x

7 thoughts on “Title Woes

  1. Ooh, A Shepherd for Raptors is my favorite, followed by Demidemonology. But the first one I think is more provocative and encompasses what the book is about while including a religious connotations, all in the title.

  2. I agree, Brannon- A Shepherd for Raptors is an awesome title for a book but it completely misses the mark for this particular book. Maybe I’m too imaginative but with a title like that, I’d be expecting some dinosaurs in it. I would think it’d spoof Jurassic Park or something.

  3. Giving your indecisive nature I am almost willing to bet (which is a thing I don’t do intentionally) that you just might have another contender rambling around that will pop out and shock everyone in the end! 🙂

Leave a Reply

